Charcoal drawing the wrong way.

48058_10151647305766974_731774113_n

I need to use charcoals more. They’re lots of fun, but I have no idea how to ‘properly’ use them. I remember in high school, my art teacher would yell at the kids who smudged their charcoals and graphite to blend it. She’d say it wasn’t ‘real’ blending and wasn’t a proper technique, and they were doing it wrong.

Now, I have no idea at all. I havn’t studied art at all (though I’d like to), but I know HOW I like to draw. And that’s with smudging ๐Ÿ˜›

How do you like to draw with charcoals and pencils? Do you shade ‘properly’ or smudge the hell out of it like me?

6 thoughts on “Charcoal drawing the wrong way.

  1. I don’t use dry media much nowadays but I got the same speech back in school about charcoals and pencils. “Don’t use your fingers to blend” is all my teacher was really trying to say as the oils from your hand will mess up the surface of your work. Instead, use an actual blending stump or a home made tortillion to help you make those smooth transitions.

    As for myself, I do more of a cross hatching technique to describe tones instead of trying to match the actual grayscale values via blending. There’s really no one way of using the mediums as it depends on your own drawing style ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I didn’t realise it was because of the skin’s oils – that makes sense! I love the look of cross hatching but I’m always too cautious and nervous making any really bold shading. Thanks for your comment, I might try a blending stump (yay no more fingerprints)

Leave a Reply

