Flying

As I sit here in the garden
And I look towards the sky,
I see the birds fly overhead,
They soar and it looks so effortless.
The wind that catches their wings
Makes my hair cover my eyes.
I close them, smiling
And listen to the sounds around me.
The birds are singing their happy songs,
The win rustles the autumn leaves
And I sit, peacefully, thinking of you.
I open my eyes and smile to myself.
You have always loved birds,
The way they fly so freely,
The way they perch on the branch, so regally.
I know you were a bird in a past life.
You’re a free spirit.
If you want to fly, nothing can hold you back.
You have a lust for life,
For adventure and travel.
I can imagine you soaring in the sky,
Looking down at the world; an amazing view,
Then flying back down to earth
And sharing with me what you’ve seen.
I think the world would look more beautiful
From way up there.
Sometimes I imagine joining you.
We could fly forever, you and I.
Fly past all the worries in the world
And keep going til we’re amongst the clouds.
All we can see are the clouds,
The sun, and each other.
We are all each other needs.
I smile as I close my eyes
And again I hear the birds’ sweet songs.
The happy chirps of a beautiful creature
Who sees the world as a pinprick
Far down below.
No wonder birds are so free.
And that is how I feel.
We could fly forever and never tire.
Side by side, the wind in our feathers.
We are both birds and this world is our sky,
Full of wonder and opportunity.
With you I can do anything.
Even fly.

Leave a Reply

